- 36 hour program required by the MVA.
- Car rental for the road test.
- 3 hours Alcohol and Drugs program.
- Driver Improvement Classes.
- Special classes for nervous drivers.
- Assistance in obtaining your driver’s permit.
- Special classes to practice for the road test.
Five things you should know about driving in Maryland
WHO MUST HAVE A DRIVER’S LICENSE?
If you drive a motor vehicle in Maryland, you must have a valid driver’s license. A new resident, if currently licensed in another jurisdiction, must obtain a Maryland driver’s license within 60 days of becoming a resident.
GRADUATED LICENSING SYSTEM
On July 1, 1999, Maryland implemented laws commonly referred to as “THE ROOKIE DRIVER: GRADUATED LICENSING SYSTEM” These laws apply to ALL NON-COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE APPLICANTS, regardless of age, who have never held a license in Maryland or any other state or country or who have held their out-of-state/out-of-country license for less than 18 months.
IF YOU HOLD AN OUT-OF COUNTRY LICENSE
You are required to take three-hour alcohol and drug education program; you also need to take the knowledge and driving test.
All applicants, regardless of age, who have NEVER been licensed by Maryland or any other jurisdiction, must have satisfactorily completed an approved driver education course of not less than 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driver training. Proof of that must be send to the MVA by the Driving School.
HOW TO OBTAIN A DRIVER’S LICENSE?
All applicants must apply in person at one of the Motor Vehicle Administration offices, furnish the required proof of age, identity, and residency, and take the vision screening, knowledge, and driving test.
Astick Driving School
504 E Diamond Avenue, Suite C
Gaithersburg, MD 20877-5022
Phone: (301) 977-9607
Business Phone: (240) 205-6121
Alt. Phone: (301) 704-8974
info [at] astickdrivingschool.com